The Muskegon Police Department currently has 76 sworn positions and 15 non-sworn positions among the following bureaus and units:

Public Safety Administration

Public Safety Director
Administrative Captain
Special Services Lieutenant (Accreditation Manager)
Administrative Supervisor
Police Community Coordinator

Patrol Bureau

Patrol Captain
Patrol Lieutenants
Patrol Sergeants
Patrol Officers (6 squads)
Bicycle Patrol
Parking Enforcement
Records Bureau
Quartermaster Program

Investigations Bureau

Investigations Captain
Detective Sergeant
Violent Crime Task Force Detective
Violence Against Woman Task Force Detectives
Crime Scene Detective
Narcotics (WEMET)
Neighborhood Policing Unit
Crime Activity and Traffic Team
School Resource Officer
Beach Patrol
Evidence Clerks